Sheila and Nala

My aunt passed away suddenly and I am caring for two of her dogs,  one of whom is blind and arthritic.  Sheila (the older blind one) and Nala are very sweet dogs and I’m hoping to give them a good home.

image
Napping is good

I spent Friday evening and yesterday brushing and cutting out terrible fur mats and showing them their new yard and the basement.  I don’t think Sheila can make it up or down the stairs. She has thoroughly explored her space and is bonking her nose less and less.  Nala is apparently terrified of the stairs.

image
Lots of mats

Sheila (the old one) figured out today where her brand new spiffy dog bed is and looked very comfy. She is perkier than yesterday,  but really just wants the occasional skritch and a cool spot.  She really enjoys the breeze coming down the stairs from the swamp cooler.

Nala is getting comfortable, which is good, but bad in that she thinks taking herself ‘sploring is a great idea. Imagine the sight of me trying to coax her out from under the neighbor’s VW bus. In large yellow paisley harem pants.

Yeah.

Now that you’re done scratching your mental eyeballs out,  I will say that she is being really sweet about things but I can see that we are going to have to work on Going Down Stairs Works As Well As Going Up. I do not know what bothers her so much about using stairs in front of me. She will go up them when we aren’t looking and refuses to go back down.  I can take her around the house,  through the gate,  to the backyard, but I’d really rather she just went back down the stairs herself. We’ll figure it out.

image

Nala is very polite and wants love constantly. She is adorable about it,  not demanding.

image
Pets, please

Linnae insisted on taking Sheila’s bowl to her,  which I am pleased with.  Taking care of someone is important. Learning to comfort someone and make sure they have all they need when they are in pain and  declining is important,  too. I think Sheila and Linnae are going to make a good pair.

Neither dog seems too overly interested in the chickens, thankfully.

Just walks.

image
Walkies?
Leave a Reply

