Ten, Hut!

Teaching children to say “yes ma’am” and “no ma’am” and “please” and “thank you” with genuine respect for another human being can really save their lives. It is SO much easier to keep my cool in general when Linnae is polite. Which in turn makes it easier for her to BE polite.

I am so grateful to her first grade teacher for reinforcing this. Her incredible kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Labor, and her assistant Mrs. Messier nurtured respect for each other and loving behavior. Mr. Callahan has built upon this with teaching them the communication of respect. He also entertains them with a sarcastic, silly sense of humor which I find amazing in conjunction with the “yes, sir” environment but is another good lesson for the kids.

I am not saying Paul and I didn’t start her off well (mostly Paul’s example, probably, I am better at fart jokes), I am just really grateful her teachers continue it rather than make it more difficult.

I have learned so much from Linnae. Each child is an education. I guess grandchildren probably will be, too.

Leave a Reply

