Collard Greens, Haricot Vert, Seafood Blend, Rice

IMAG1181

I cooked jasmine rice in the rice cooker (I use one of those Hamilton Beach veggie steamer/rice cookers, it’s probably 20 years old) using chicken broth instead of water.

I put the rest of the quart jar of broth in my nifty lodge cast iron pot and piled a heap of collard greens (that I had divested of its ribs), some frozen green beans (“haricot vert” sounds so much more classy!), a frozen bag of Trader Joe’s seafood blend (scallops, shrimp, squid), & put in some dried chives, coriander powder, sesame seeds, avocado oil in case things started to stick to the bottom of the pan which they tend to do when I cook, a few dribbles and dashes of coconut aminos, onion powder, salt. I truly don’t measure, I’m sorry. I am sure this would taste great with a variety of spices, I was just making it up as I went, thinking “Chinese warm spices.”

IMAG1185

I put it in the oven at 350 degrees for however long it took the rice to finish cooking and then kinda forgot about it a little and left it in a little longer than that.  Probably about 30 minutes.

Tasted great, tried it with a little wasabi, tasted great, tried it with a little sriricha sauce, tasted great but maybe not as great as without. I am just a sucker for that sauce. I think if I hadn’t been cooking for Linnae as well, I might have made it with sliced fresh jalapenos.

Leave a Reply

