Chicken w/peach chutney

image

What to do with the second to last jar of delicious spicy peach chutney, made with my dad’s peaches in 2010? More cheeeeecken!

With great enthusiasm I skinned and dismembered the Ironwood Farms chicken and laid it the magnalite Dutch oven roaster thing my grandma always used. Not THE same one, my sister has that one, but the same kind that I bought on Ebay. My ability to rend a chicken limb from limb surprised me. The catharsis wasn’t quite as good as pounding, er kneading, bread dough, but quite satisfying.

Dumped in the jar of spicy peach chutney, recipe from the Kerr canning book.  I have to make more sometime. It was great.

image

I cut up a bell pepper and threw that in, thinking it might need a little zip and I felt like eating some cooked pepper rather than yet another raw one today.

I put on the lid and cooked in a preheated oven at 350 for about an hour and a half.  Next time I might try lower heat, longer time. I was in a rush because nap was late.

image

If we still ate rice or bread, that sauce would have been GONE. Yum. The chicken turned out great, although the breast was a bit drier than I like. I shall leave the skin on it next time, perhaps.

image

A salad made from Romaine lettuce and Ironwood Farm Arugula with parmesan shavings and peanut dressing went well with it, although probably had some conflicting flavors that broke some culinary rule or something. Whatever. Anything that gets us to eat more greens is good.

image

Pretty darned good, although now we have too many leftovers in the fridge. Omelette time, or soup?

Leave a Reply

